My Travel Bag for the Trip Around the World – Part 1

Whoa! It’s been a while. Life is getting hectic!

It’s less than a month to go before the big trip. So I’ll start this off by some questions you’ll want to ask yourself as you go.

First, and probably one of the most important questions: how many bags are you planning to bring?

Let’s look at my itinerary again: 28 days, 6 countries, 9 (!) different airlines, 7 (!) airport transfers… well it looks like the answer is that you’ll want as few bags as possible! 

So I’ve decided to bring ONE and ONLY ONE BAG.  One bag that will bring everything I need which will fit in my carry on.

Why Carry On? Carry On means less waiting, more travelling. Carry On means doing more with less, and having less to lose. Since I’m travelling across many countries, if I had a check in bag misplaced, that would be a major disaster!!!

So I searched high and low, did my research and deep dive and one brand kept coming up: Tom Bihn.

Tom Bihn is a company based in Seattle. They design and make all the bags in house themselves, a rarity in this day and age. Heck their website and their retail store is the ONLY place you can buy their bags from, you can’t buy them in Amazon, Walmart, Best Buy, REI, etc!!!

In almost all the forums I’ve been to and all the blogs I’ve read I’ve heard nothing but good words about this company and their bags. Feeling adventurous, I decided to take the bullet and I ordered the Tom Bihn Aeronaut, one of their most highly rated bags. .  Although they do ship worldwide, I was lucky enough to have a friend who was willing to bring it home from the US for me (I ordered online using my Philippine Credit Card and had it shipped to my friend’s address).

TB0906_01b

The Tom Bihn Aeronaut in Grey. I ordered the black one, the grey is just to show contrast.

The verdict: Ladies and gentleman, this bag is fantastic. 

I’m very impressed with the design. The material looked sturdy, professional, yet doesn’t come across as heavy. The zippers were the most well made zippers I’ve ever seen in my life (with weather sealing too). The layout makes sense and natural, and the inside looks beautiful.

It works well as a shoulder bag and as a backpack. and it fit everything I wanted to put inside.

The Tom Bihn Aeronaut in Black and Iberian (aka Red). This is the exact color I got.

Here’s a series of photos from Flickr that shows how people are using it: http://www.flickr.com/photos/tombihn/sets/72157629555587148/

I’d like to talk more about it but for now, here’s a video for you.

Looks interesting right? Well I’d like to make my own personal review of this bag! I’ll show you how it looks  and I’ll even show you what I’m packing inside. Good time to talk about what you should bring in an around the world trip. Watch out for it!

Leo

P.S. I am in no way connected to Tom Bihn nor did I receive compensation from them.

Leave a Reply

