Booking your Flights, Part 2

So now convinced to go around the world and knowing where I want to go, how do I now book my flights?

My experience has provided me many options. There’s a story behind each one, which if you don’t mind I’d like to share to see if this option is for you. This is Part 2. You can find Part 1 here, which focuses on buying a Round the World ticket via SkyTeam in the Philippines (spoiler alert: not recommended).

If you want to know my recommendation,  just jump to the end of this series.

So with Skyteam a bust, lets’s try another Airline Partnership that offers round the world tickets:

Star Alliance S1 Screen Shot 2013-08-25 at 5.15.25 PM

ATTEMPT #2 – Star Alliance

Star Alliance is actually a bigger network than SkyTeam. This includes Singapore Airlines, United, Lufthansa, EgyptAir, ANA, etc.

Because they have a bigger network, this allows more options and connections ergo more flexibility.  I didn’t think of this option first since I had more miles in Skyteam and had a bit of “loyalty”.

And just like SkyTeam they have their own Round the World planner too. It’s called Book and Fly and you’ll find out why the name is apt as you go along.

  • The Planner loads and it’s in Adobe Flash (boo), but having said that it ran much faster than the SkyTeam version.
  • They also have an iPad app  (which I didn’t test, but good to know since we know iPads don’t do flash)
  • When you pick Country of Residence, you find Philippines is not listed (boo), but there is an Other option at the end. Use that.
  • The interface is so much better here than SkyTeam. It zooms and move smoother, and everything just seems cleaner. I guess there’s reason for the Flash. I wonder how it is on iPad. Maybe I’ll try later.
  • It shows the actual flights for each leg, meaning actual airline and flight number, which is great.
  • Just like Skyteam it comes in packages: 26K, 29, 34K and 39K.
  • And here’s the best part: it gives the estimated price once you’re done!!!!!!!

So so so much better. I wish Skyteam had this so I’m not dependent on the local partner!

The thing you need to remember though, is that final price is NOT in US Dollars, it’s in EUROS. Based on my other research, it seems to be more expensive on what I was expecting.

Once you have your itinerary, click next and the complete flight list shows up (click the image for a bigger version)

Star Alliance S2 Screen Shot 2013-08-25 at 9.44.29 PM

Very well done Star Alliance, I’m impressed! You can even choose alternate flights on the same screen, which I couldn’t do on the Skyteam site and over the phone with the local partner! Quite user friendly I must say.

So in summary, here’s what we have:

Booking via Star Alliance

  • MUCH easier to use website to create an itinerary (fast & responsive)
  • Itinerary will be given an estimated price immediately once you finish your itinerary.
  • Itinerary was adjustable by showing different flight options, so you can plan your trip better.
  • Remember that price is in Euros!!!

So if you like Star Alliance, then this is an excellent option.  It’s everything I wanted that SkyTeam could not deliver. Having said that though, this estimate isn’t final yet; once your done you send the itinerary and they’ll give you an official quote.

Oh and in case you were wondering how I was handling the long waits in my previous attempt with Delta, I found this tool and was playing with it which helped me pass the time. Nothing manages your impatience better than having another viable option.

Having said that, I looked at the final price. It was higher than I expected. The fact that it was in Euros made it even scarier. 

I wonder if I can find a cheaper option? So I did some more research…  and I found yes there is!  Which I’ll talk about in my next post.

Leo

P.S. You’ll see again original versions of my itinerary, which still went to Lima and not Ecuador. 

4 thoughts on “Booking your Flights, Part 2

  1. Hi Leo! Thanks for sharing this. I’m looking forward to your next post here. Planning pa lang adventure na. 😀

  2. Pingback: Leo Castillo Travels the World | Booking your Flights, Part 3

  3. Pingback: Leo Castillo Travels the World | Booking your Flights, Part 4

Leave a Reply

